The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) recommends all servers and sellers of alcohol take a TABC certification course through an approved Texas server permit training provider. It provides protection for licensees to Safe Harbor if an employee sells or serves alcohol to a minor or an intoxicated person.
When completed, your Texas TABC certificate is an approved server training that fully complies with Texas statutes Alcoholic Beverage Code. This course was developed based on over 35 years of experience and knowledge in providing alcohol seller server training. It will give you the tools to sell and serve alcohol responsibly both on-site and off-site. This course is also known as the Texas alcohol server permit, Texas bartending license, or TABC license Texas course.
What Is TABC Certification Training
This interactive TABC certified online training course will provide the necessary tools and skills to ensure the safe and legal service of alcoholic beverages. Print your TABC Texas certificate immediately after you complete your TABC training course. The course is accessible 24x7 using a computer, tablet, or mobile phone and is the quickest and most enjoyable way to earn your alcohol certification. You can log out anytime and restart later, where you last left off. This flexibility has made our online course the #1 way to get certified as a Texas TABC Seller-Server Training.
How Long Is Your TABC Certification Valid
The question is sometimes, "How long is TABC valid?" or "How long is a TABC certification valid?" The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission recommends that you obtain a TABC permit to sell and/or serve alcohol in Texas. A Texas TABC permit or being Texas TABC certified is valid for two years.
We cover topics in our TABC Texas bartender course about how old you need to be to become a bartender and how to become a bartender. Our web page, Bartender Career Statistics, is dedicated to sharing key statistics in the United States. For general information on obtaining a bartending license (not specific to any state), see our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Bartending License.
How To Become A Bartender In Texas
To become a bartender in Texas, you should be at least 18 years of age. You should have a passion for drink making, customer service, and nightlife (unless you're more of a brunch person). The next step is to take a Texas alcohol training course from a legitimate business such as Serving Alcohol. It's recommended that even before starting, you have knowledge of drink making (check out our Breaking Down series to learn about some of the most popular drinks), bar equipment (check out our Behind the Bar Rail series about bar tools you'll use most often), and review other resources such as 28 New Bartender Tips and Bartending 101.
Quick & Easy Texas TABC on the Fly
This course takes 3 hours or less, depending on the individual. It's easy to get your TABC on the fly and complete it in one sitting. Take our Texas TABC course at your own pace and leisure. Leave and come back to the course as many times as needed. When you return, the training will pick up where you last left.
TABC Certified Online Training
We recognize you are busy, and Texas alcohol training might not be at the forefront of your mind. We pride ourselves in providing accurate knowledge to quickly bring you and your employees "up to speed" with the most recent Texas alcohol laws. Some of our information may seem common knowledge, but we take your alcohol-serving profession very seriously. Your decisions could make a dramatic difference in another person's life. With a little of your time and our training, we will help you become a responsible, safe server of alcohol and increase your tips. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the TABC course, and print your free TABC certificate and wallet card all within a couple of hours.
This TABC course gives you the tools to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. With our course, you will protect yourself and the establishment where you are serving the alcohol. Additionally, you will learn:
- The effects of alcohol on your patrons
- Keep customers from becoming intoxicated
- Intervene when you need to refuse a sale
- Prevent intoxicated customers from disturbing others
- Properly check IDs and recognize minors
- Prevent second-party sales
- Protect yourself and the establishment from liability
Benefits of Serving Alcohol's TABC Training
We take great pride in bringing you quality information. Since 1985, we have alcohol-certified tens of thousands of individuals and businesses. This course is created by former bar and restaurant managers, bartenders, and servers. Serving Alcohol Inc. provides industry-leading training and services to owners, managers, bartenders, waitstaff, and retail sellers of alcohol. Our Texas alcohol server training incorporates decades of research directly from our staff because we have "been there" working in the alcohol-serving environment.
Most Preferred & Recommended TABC Certification
We recognize that you are busy, and alcohol training may not be at the forefront of your mind. We aim to give you accurate knowledge and quickly bring you "up to speed" with the most recent laws. Some of our information may seem common knowledge. But, as you do, we take your profession very seriously. Your decisions while serving alcohol could dramatically affect another person's life. With a little of your time and our training, we will help you become a safer alcohol seller or server and increase your tips. Free certificate and wallet card immediately after completion.
You will learn all the "compliance" material, and, as an added bonus, you will learn some hard-won industry insights. We work directly with the states we represent so that your training is current, concise, accurate, and highly approved. With our alcohol certification program, we give you the tools to learn to serve responsibly, a sense of responsibility, and respect for your community and your work environment.
To remain Texas TABC certified, if you continue in the alcohol-selling serving industry, you should renew your TABC license by retaking the course every 2 years.
Use Any Device To Take Your Texas Bartending License
Take your TABC on the fly, as our courses can be completed on any computer, tablet, or cellphone. Your certificate is available to you immediately upon completion as an emailed PDF file. Complete it tonight and email it to your manager before going to work tomorrow. Select your course, click Enroll now, complete the course, and print your certificate.
What Is A TABC Certificate
This is physical proof that you have taken TABC training and passed. It can be printed off as proof of certification and should be kept with your employer or in your personal records. Proof of taking the training and being TABC certified is considered Safe Harbor.
Dedicated TABC Online Course Support Staff In The USA
Our TABC online course support staff is open longer and dedicated to quickly resolving any issues you bring. Resulting in some of the fastest support turnarounds regarding TABC training. We offer support assistance in English or Spanish. If you have any problems, don't hesitate to contact us, and we will quickly work with you to resolve them.
What Is TABC Certification
TABC certification, online or in person, is when a seller or server of alcohol meets all of the requirements set by state law. This includes attending and maintaining TABC training. Serving Alcohol as an approved training provider can be found in the state of Texas TABC Certificate Inquiry. From here, any employer can use your personal identifying information to determine if a person has taken a TABC-approved seller training course (such as the one Serving Alcohol provides).
What Is Safe Habor
Safe Harbor is relief offered by the Texas government to relieve a business when a person sells or serves alcohol to a minor or an intoxicated person. The TABC FAQs states:
We also will not take administrative action against a license/permit holder if an employee sells or serves an alcoholic beverage to a minor or intoxicated customer, as long as they meet all the following criteria:
- The person selling is not the owner or an officer of the company.
- The person selling holds a current seller/server training certificate from a TABC-approved school.
- All employees as well as their immediate managers, who engaged in the sale, service, or delivery of alcohol, are TABC certified within 30 days of their hire date.
- The employer has written policies for responsible alcohol service and ensures that each employee has read and understands these policies.
- The employer does not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate the law.
- There are not three or more of these types of violations in a 12-month period.
The full administrative rule can be found under Texas Alcoholic Beverage Code §106.14(a) and TABC Administrative Rules §34.4.
Texas TABC Certified Online
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission (TABC) controls licensing, permits, certification, and more in regarding the safe selling and serving of alcohol in Texas.
The Texas Alcoholic Beverage Commission, or TABC, requires that you obtain a TABC license to sell or serve alcohol in the state of Texas. Renew your TABC server permit online every two years.
The minimum age to sell alcohol in Texas is 16 years of age (off-premise like a grocery store). The minimum age to serve alcohol in Texas is 18 years of age (on-premise like a restaurant).
No, but it is highly recommended but not required to take a TABC approved training. Especially by the business since it can provide Safe Harbor in certain situations.
If you are charged with selling alcohol to a minor or to an intoxicated person, your employer could lose their license to sell. In order for your employer's license to be protected:
- The person selling/serving is not the owner or an officer of the company;
- The person selling/serving holds a current seller-server training certificate from a TABC approved school;
- All employees engaged in the sale, service, or delivery of alcoholic beverages, as well as their immediate managers, are certified within 30 days of their hire date;
- The employer has written policies for responsible alcohol service and consumption and ensures that each employee has read and understands these policies;
- The employer does not directly or indirectly encourage the employee to violate the law;
Meeting these criteria is commonly referred to as "safe harbor." If an illegal sale is made, the seller-server might be arrested, but the company’s permit/license may be protected.
If one violation takes place:
- Criminal action may be taken against the employee;
- The owner or manager may be required to complete an affidavit stating that they have met all the requirements;
- The owner or manager will be required to provide the names, social security numbers, and dates of birth of all employees so that the affidavit can be verified.
- TABC will verify the certification of the employees.
If anyone of these elements is missing, the company is not protected.
This course takes 3 hours or less depending on the individual.
The following are valid form of identification to purchase alcoholic beverages in Texas:
- Any valid U.S. Driver's License
- ID Card
- Passport or other Government ID with photograph and date of birth
A business is permitted by law to scan an individual's ID to verify age when selling age-restricted products.
You may work behind a bar and serve alcohol in the state of Texas with a felony conviction. If you are applying for a liquor license for your establishment, then the requirements are different and you must have no felony on record for the past 5 years. If the felony is older than 5 years, you may apply for a liquor license for your establishment.
Happy hour prices must end at 11 p.m., but nothing prevents a retailer from offering a drink special from opening to closing time. But if these sales cause a customer to drink to excess or cause the retailer to not be able to monitor or control alcohol consumption, the retailer will be liable.
- The Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit in Texas is .08%.
- Any persons with a BAC of .15% or more will experience increased penalties.
- Anyone under the age of 21 is expected to have a BAC of 0% as they hold a no-tolerance policy.
Texas recognizes “implied consent” meaning that you agree to take a blood or breath alcohol test (breathalyzer) when obtaining a driver’s license.
A private club is a business that holds a Private Club Registration Permit (N). This type of permit allows the business the ability to purchase distilled spirits, wine, ale, malt liquor, and beer for members and their guest(s). A private club can be a country club, lodge, golf club, social club, veteran's organization, or fraternity.
For more information on a Private Club (TABC), please review Know your Responsibilities for Private Club Registration Permit (N).