Massachusetts Bartending License
Our Massachusetts bartending license certification online course is created using the standards set by the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC) and the rules and regulations in the Massachusetts Liquor Control Act. This Massachusetts bartending certification is often referred to as Massachusetts alcohol server training, Massachusetts alcohol certification, or Massachusetts bartending license.
How To Get A Bartending License
Since 1985, we have given Massachusetts Alcohol Server & Seller Training to bartenders, servers, and managers to become responsible alcohol servers. Over the decades, we have worked diligently with the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission as well as liability lawyers to create the most reputable and recommended Massachusetts alcohol server certification training. You'll learn alcohol awareness training, intervention techniques, server duties, carding procedures, and Massachusetts liquor laws as well as their dramshop laws. All in a simple online alcohol server training course that is easy to understand. Select Enroll Now and easily complete the course in a couple of hours.
Staff members who serve or handle food should also have their Massachusetts Food Handler certification.
Do You Need A Bartending License In Massachusetts
Massachusetts ABCC alcohol certification by the state is voluntary but many ordinances and counties will require it for their community. Most employers and liquor liability insurance carriers do require all sellers and servers of alcoholic beverages to be certified to sell and/or serve alcohol in bars, restaurants, nightclubs, sports bars, or anywhere alcohol can be purchased or served. With this course, you will learn to serve responsibly by former bar and restaurant managers, bartenders, and servers.
We are the most preferred Massachusetts bartending licence certification for responsible service of alcohol.
Advantages of our online course:
- Easily complete at your own pace
- Login and out of course as many times as needed to complete
- Up to 6 months to complete your course
- Only 70% to pass and get your certificate
- Retake final exam until pass if needed FREE
- Immediately download & email your certificate for FREE
TIPS Certification, ServSafe & Serving Alcohol
It's often asked of us, do you offer tips certification? The answer is, Yes, we do offer Massachusetts responsible alcohol certification.
It’s important to note that TIPS certification, ServSafe, and Serving Alcohol are not “types” of training certification. Instead, all three are “brands” of responsible alcohol training recommended by most employers and businesses. Think of how some people will ask for a Kleenex instead of a tissue. Kleenex is a brand of tissue, not a type of tissue.
Employers will often tell you to get your Massachusetts TIPS certification or ServSafe certification. You can choose how to get a bartending license in Massachusetts or Massachusetts alcohol server training certification. Just like you can buy the various brands of tissue at the store. You are not locked into taking any one of these specific training providers' courses.
You probably heard of all three of these Massachusetts alcohol server and seller training courses. For over 35 years, Serving Alcohol has trained hundreds of thousands of people, their employers, and businesses. Many state alcoholic beverage control commissions prefer Serving Alcohol training for businesses and their staff members. This course specifically addresses Massachusetts alcohol laws, regulations, and rules. Serving Alcohol only provides specific state alcohol training courses and the content is specific to the state. To be sure, you can choose any of the three training courses to accommodate your employer’s request for Massachusetts alcohol server certification.
Quick and Easy Alcohol Server Certification
Our Massachusetts alcohol server training course is simple to enroll in and easy to earn your Massachusetts bartender's license. Begin the self-paced training in one sitting or leave and come back to the course as many times as needed. The course guides you with voiceover reading of each page. The speed of the voiceover can be increased or slowed down to suit your needs.
Use Any Computer Or Device
Our Massachusetts alcohol service certification course can be taken on a multitude of devices as well as web browsers. Take it on a computer, laptop, tablet, or cellphone; on the go or while you sit at home. Now training can be done on your terms.
Completion & Pass 100% Guaranteed
We give you multiple chances to take the course. Busy? Multi-tasking? No worries. Come back until you get it completed, guaranteed.
Get Certified Today
Need to be compliant in a hurry? Our Massachusetts Alcohol Server On-Premise Course, to earn your Massachusetts bartender license, is available to you immediately upon completion as an emailed PDF file. Complete it tonight and email it to your manager before going to work tomorrow.
Massachusetts Alcohol Certification
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Massachusetts liquor licensing and/or bartender licensing rules and regulations are handled by the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC).
The Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission (ABCC)
95 Fourth Street
Chelsea, MA 02150-2358
Telephone: (617) 727-3040
In Massachusetts, you must follow the rules and regulations of the Massachusetts Alcoholic Beverages Control Commission.
Acceptable IDs include one of the following:
- Valid Massachusetts Driver's License
- Valid Military ID
- Valid Passport or US Passport Card
- Valid Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles Liquor ID Card
The minimum age to serve alcohol, pour, or sell alcohol is 18 years old.
The minimum age to drink alcoholic beverages is 21 years old.
Maybe. Off-premises or on-premises licensees and managers cannot hold a license or licensed manager position if convicted of a felony. But, individuals might be able to serve alcohol if approved by the ordinance.
In the state of Massachusetts, an OUI (operating under the influence) is considered a BAC at or greater than .08%.
Massachusetts does not have a specific statute allowing injured people to bring civil claims for damages against alcohol vendors. However, Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 138, Section 69 does prohibit vendors from serving or selling alcohol to an "intoxicated person," and Massachusetts courts have held that a vendor who does so may be held liable for negligence in a civil lawsuit.
According to Massachusetts Liquor Control Act, “No licensee or employee or agent of a licensee shall: (a) offer or deliver any free drinks to any person or group of persons; (b) deliver more than two drinks to one person at one time; (c) sell, offer to sell or deliver to any person or group of persons any drinks at a price less than the price regularly charged for such drinks during the same calendar week, except at private functions not open to the public; (d) sell, offer to sell or deliver to any person an unlimited number of drinks during any set period of time for a fixed price, except at private functions not open to the public; (e) sell, offer to sell or deliver drinks to any person or group of persons on any one day at prices less than those charged the general public on that day, except at private functions not open to the public; (f) sell, offer to sell or deliver malt beverages or mixed drinks by the pitcher except to two or more persons at any one time; (g) increase the volume of alcoholic beverages contained in a drink without increasing proportionately the price regularly charged for such drink during the same calendar week; (h) encourage or permit, on the licensed premises, any game or contest which involves drinking or the awarding of drinks as prizes. (2) No licensee shall advertise or promote in any way, whether within or without the licensed premises, any of the practices prohibited under 204 CMR 4.03.”
No, but it's still recommended to get tips certification on the service of alcohol from an bartender license certification for instances of liability especially insurance deductions.
The Massachusetts tips certification is valid for 3 years.
With over 35 plus years of experience in the hospitality industry as an alcohol certification consultant, instructor, manager, and coordinator, Robert Pomplun is a true expert. Our alcohol training and certification courses with Robert's guidance have benefited thousands of bartenders, servers, managers, owners, and security staff across the nation. Our courses will prepare you and your team with knowledge as the most critical component of responsible alcohol service.
Learn more About Us!
All you need is a smartphone, tablet, computer, Internet connection, and time. That's it!
Compatible Computers and Devices:
- Windows 7, 8, 10 or 11
- Mac OSX or better
- Chromebook OS ver. 90 or better
- Android-based tablet or phone (version 7.0 or better)
- iPhone 6 or better (iOS 12 or better)
- iPad 4 or better (iOS 12 or better)
Use These Web Browsers:
- Google Chrome ver. 90 or better
- Mozilla Firefox ver. 90 or better
- Safari 12 or better
- Microsoft Edge version 90 or better
|Do not use these web browsers:
They do not work well with interactive online training courses. If you currently use any of these web browsers, please switch to the native Google Chrome on your Android device or Safari browser on your iPhone or iPad. You will have a much better and quicker user experience.
We highly recommend Google Chrome when taking this course. It's much faster and more efficient with interactive training courses.
Clear the Cache in your Web Browser:
Online interactive learning courses are more demanding of your computer or device than regular websites. We highly recommend clearing your web browser before beginning. The course will react better and quicker. It takes only 30 seconds. Besides, it greatly helps to increase the speed of your browser on the Internet for all websites. Click here to select your device and browser for specific and easy instructions.
Bartending Age Massachusetts
According to the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism, in Massachusetts, you must be at least 18 years of age to bartend.
Are There Any Dry Counties In Massachusetts
All of the towns in the state of Massachusetts are wet EXCEPT for the following:
- Alford – Berkshire County
- Dunstable – Middlesex County
- Chilmark – Dukes County
- Gosnold – Dukes County
- Hawley – Franklin County
- Montgomery – Hampden County
- West Hampton – Hampshire County
- Mount Washington – Berkshire County
What's Covered In The Course
Serving Alcohol, Inc. has over 35 years of experience with teaching alcohol awareness training, intervention techniques, server duties, carding procedures, Massachusetts alcohol laws as well as their dramshop laws. Our course will teach you:
- How to protect yourself and your establishment from liability
- How alcohol affects your customers
- How to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers
- How to prevent customers from becoming overly intoxicated
- How to intervene when you need to refuse a sale
- How to avoid and deal with disturbances
- How to accurately check IDs and recognize minors with fake IDs
- How to prevent second-party transactions
- How to react to authorities when a problem arises
The Most Recommended Massachusetts Bartender Certification
Our courses are recommended and endorsed by liability insurance carriers. Most liability insurance carriers for alcohol-serving establishments (restaurants, bars, taverns, and nightclubs) require all employees to hold an alcohol certification. Therefore, they will need your staff to remain current with state rules, regulations, and laws, in regard to the service of alcohol. As a result, more businesses are requiring our server certification as a condition of employment.
We cover topics in our Massachusetts bartender course about how old you need to be to become a bartender. Another frequently asked question from us is how to get your Massachusetts bartending license. For reference, we have a web page dedicated to some helpful bartender career statistics in the US. For general information on obtaining a bartending license (not specific to any state), see our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Bartending License.