Michigan Liquor Control Commission
State Approved Alcohol Certification
Michigan Bartending License Michigan Alcohol Seller-Server Course
Michigan Bartending License
Our Michigan bartending license training is approved by the MLCC (Michigan Liquor Control Commission). Serving Alcohol Michigan alcohol certification is approved by the MLCC and follows the rules and regulations stated in the Michigan Liquor Control Code, Youth Employment Standards Act Act 90, and all related penal and vehicle codes. For servers, bartenders, waiters, managers and owners who serve alcoholic beverages within the state of Michigan, On Aug. 1, 2001, the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) enacted a mandatory training requirement for businesses that serve or sell alcoholic beverages. As a result, a certified server is legally required to be on site whenever alcohol is sold.
How to Become a Licensed Bartender in Michigan
With our Michigan alcohol training, you will get tips how to serve alcohol responsibly. Get your responsible hospitality team with the skills needed and required to responsibly, lawfully, and professionally sell and server alcohol on and off premise. This course is often referred as the Michigan bartender license or Michigan alcohol seller server course. Serving Alcohol has over 35 years experience teaching alcohol awareness, intervention techniques, server duties, carding procedures, and state laws.
Advantages to our online course:
- Easily complete at your own pace
- Login and out of course as many times as needed to complete
- Up to 6 months to complete your course
- Only 80% to pass
- Retake final exam until pass if needed FREE
- Immediately download & email your certificate for FREE
TIPS Certification, ServSafe & Serving Alcohol
It's often asked of us, do you offer tips certification? The answer is, Yes, we do offer Michigan responsible alcohol certification.
It’s important to note that TIPS certification, ServSafe, and Serving Alcohol are not a “type” of training certification. Instead, all three are “brands” of responsible alcohol training recommended by most employers and businesses. Think of how some people will ask for a Kleenex instead of a tissue. Kleenex is a brand of tissue, not a type of tissue.
Employers will often tell you to get your Michigan TIPS certification or ServSafe certification. You can choose which responsible alcohol seller/server training course you want. Just like how you can buy the various brands of tissue at the store. You are not locked into taking any one of these specific training provider's course.
You probably heard of all three of these responsible alcohol server and seller training courses. For over 35 years, Serving Alcohol has trained hundreds of thousands of people, their employers and businesses. This course is approved by the MLCC and addresses Michigan service of alcohol laws, regulations and rules. Many businesses prefer Serving Alcohol training for their staff members. So, you do have a choice from any three of these training courses to accommodate your employer’s request for Michigan alcohol seller server certification.
Food Handler Training course
Michigan Food Handlers Card
List Price: $15
Insurance & Michigan State Required
Our courses are recommended, required, and endorsed by liability insurance carriers. For anyone holding a Retail license there is proof Proof of Financial Responsibility (liquor liability insurance) required by MCL 436.1803. Your staff will remain current with state rules, regulations, and laws, in regards to the service of alcohol.
Michigan Alcohol Seller-Server Course
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
Click the Sign In button at the top of the page to return to your Michigan Alcohol Seller-Server Course.
Yes. On August 1, 2001, the MLCC implemented the mandatory server training requirement for licensees obtaining a new on premises license or transferring more than 50% interest in an existing on-premises license. At a minimum, server trained supervisory personnel must be employed during all hours alcoholic beverages are served as outlined in MCL 436.1501(1).
The course is part of the educational program whose curriculum has been approved by the commission under the standards described in this section and is offered by an administrator or instructor to a retail licensee, or a licensee operating a tasting room or providing samples of alcoholic liquor, for its employees.
In Michigan, you must follow the rules and regulations of Michigan Liquor Control Code, Youth Employment Standards Act Act 90, and any related penal and vehicle code.
The agency that handles Michigan liquor licensing and/or bartender licensing rules and regulations in Michigan is The Michigan Liquor Control Commission. The contact information for The Michigan Liquor Control Commission is listed below. You can contact them to verify that online server certification (bartender license) can be obtained in Michigan. We have also listed that information where applicable.
The Michigan Liquor Control Commission
Acceptable IDs include one of the following:
- A valid current driver's license or photo ID card issued by the Illinois Secretary of State's Office or any other State
- A valid Armed Forces ID;
- A valid U.S. passport or foreign passport (with U.S. travel visa) containing the holder's photograph.
Yes, you can legally confiscate a fake or fraudulent ID.
In the state of Michigan, you can pour alcohol at the age of 18, if supervised by someone who is 21. You can sell alcohol at 18 in grocery stores or convenience stores but you must be 21 to sell in a liquor store. To serve alcohol you must be 18, if supervised by someone who is 21
Yes, serving alcohol is acceptable. However, you can not hold a license license in the state of Michigan if you have a felony.
Answer provided by the Law Office of Barton Morris
In the state of Michigan, driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI) is .08.
“Michigan is one of many states that allow an injured person to hold a business liable for providing alcohol to a minor -- or to a visibly intoxicated person -- who then goes on to cause an accident. Laws like these are often known as "dram shop" laws, since vendors traditionally sold alcohol by a unit of measure called a "dram." In this article, we'll look at several key provisions of Michigan's dram shop law and how it might come into play in an injury claim after an alcohol-related accident.”
Licensees (on-premises) are prohibited from offering "2 for 1" or other multiple drink promotions whereby multiple drinks are offered for one price.
With over 35 plus years of experience in the hospitality industry as an alcohol certification, we are without question the most reputable and experienced professionals in the business. Serving Alcohol began under Robert Pomplun who is a true expert as a consultant, instructor, manager, and coordinator. Our alcohol training and certification courses with Robert's guidance have benefited thousands of bartenders, servers, managers, owners, and security staff across the nation. Our courses will prepare you and your team with knowledge as the most critical component of responsible alcohol service.
Learn more About Us!
All you need is a smartphone, tablet, computer, Internet connection, and time. That's it!
Compatible Computers and Devices:
- Windows 7, 8, 10 or 11
- Mac OSX or better
- Chromebook OS ver. 80 or better
- Android based tablet or phone (version 7.0 or better)
- iPhone 6 or better (iOS 12 or better)
- iPad 4 or better (iOS 12 or better)
Use These Web Browsers:
- Google Chrome ver. 80 or better
- Mozilla Firefox ver. 80 or better
- Safari 12 or better
- Microsoft Edge version 90 or better
|Do not use these web browsers:
They do not work well with interactive online training courses. If you currently use any of these web browsers, please switch to the native Google Chrome on your Android device or Safari browser on your iPhone or iPad. You will have a much better and quicker user experience.
We highly recommend Google Chrome when taking this course. It's much faster and more efficient with interactive training courses.
Clear the Cache in your Web Browser:
Online interactive learning courses are more demanding of your computer or device than regular websites. We highly recommend clearing your web browser before beginning. The course will react better and quicker. It takes only 30 seconds. Besides, it greatly helps to increase the speed of your browser on the Internet for all websites. Click here to select your device and browser for specific and easy instructions.
Click here to select your device, computer, and web browser combination
We cover topics in our Michigan bartender course about how old you need to be to become a bartender and how to get your Michigan bartender license. For reference, we have a web page dedicated to some helpful bartender career statistics in the US. For general information on obtaining a bartending license (not specific to any state), see our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Bartending License.
This course was created by former bar and restaurant managers, bartenders, and servers. Our Michigan alcohol training incorporates decades of functional work history from past experience. We have worked diligently with the state MLCC (Michigan Liquor Control Commission) and as well as liability lawyers to be the most protective, reputable and preferred Michigan alcohol certification.
We recognize you are busy and alcohol training might not on the forefront of your mind. We provide accurate knowledge and quickly bring you and new employees "up to speed" with the most recent laws. Some of our information may seem common knowledge but we take your alcohol serving profession very seriously. Your decisions could make a dramatic difference in another person's life. With a little of your time and our training, we will help you become a responsible safe safer of alcohol and increase your tips. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the course and print your free certificate and wallet card all within a couple of hours.
Who Should Take our Alcohol Certification
- Bar backs
- Servers & Wait Staff
- Restaurant / Bar Supervisors
- Restaurant / Bar Managers & Owners
- Wine & Liquor Store Cashiers
- Grocery Store Cashiers or Clerks
- Store Supervisors, Managers, & Owners
Complete the course and print your free certificate and wallet card all within a couple of hours. This Michigan alcohol course gives you with the tools to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. With our course you will not only protect yourself but the establishment where you are serving the alcohol.