Bartender License SC
Alcohol Server Training
On & Off Premise Alcohol Certification
South Carolina Alcohol Server Training
Our state approved South Carolina Alcohol Server Training teaches responsible beverage server training laws and how to become a licensed bartender. It's simple to get your South Carolina bartender certification. By taking the South Carolina Alcohol Server Training, the South Carolina Department Of Revenue ABL will consider it a "mitigating circumstance" if that employee can provide proof they had taken our state approved training "within a reasonable period of time before the offense in question." Within the day, you'll receive your South Carolina bartending certificate immediately upon completion. Our Serving Alcohol course is often referred to as the South Carolina bartending license or South Carolina alcohol seller/server training.
Advantages to our online course:
- Easily complete at your own pace
- Login and out of course as many times as needed to complete
- Up to 6 months to complete your course
- Only 70% to pass and get your certificate
- Retake final exam until pass if needed FREE
- Immediately download & email your certificate for FREE
What Jobs Can I Get With A South Carolina Alcohol Server Certificate?
Many different careers can benefit from South Carolina alcohol server/seller training for both on-premise and off-premise jobs.
- Servers & Wait Staff
- Restaurant / Bar Supervisors
- Restaurant / Bar Managers & Owners
- Wine & Liquor Store Cashiers and Clerks
- Grocery Store Cashiers
- Store Supervisors, Managers, & Owners
As Staff Members Of:
- Bars / Pubs / Taverns
- ABC stores
- Grocery Stores
- Convenience stores
- And more
TIPS Certification, ServSafe & Serving Alcohol
It's often asked of us, do you offer tips certification? The answer is, Yes, we do offer South Carolina responsible alcohol certification.
It’s important to note that TIPS certification, ServSafe, and Serving Alcohol are not a “type” of training certification. Instead, all three are “brands” of responsible alcohol training recommended by most employers and businesses. Think of how some people will ask for a Kleenex instead of a tissue. Kleenex is a brand of tissue, not a type of tissue.
Employers will often tell you to get your TIPS certification or ServSafe certification. You can choose which responsible alcohol seller/server training course you want. Just like how you can buy the various brands of tissue at the store. You are not locked into taking any one of these specific training provider's course.
For over 35 years, Serving Alcohol has trained hundreds of thousands of people, their employers and businesses. This course is approved by the state and specifically addresses South Carolina service of alcohol laws, regulations and rules. Many businesses prefer Serving Alcohol training for their staff members. So, you do have a choice from any three of these training courses to accommodate your employer’s request for South Carolina bartending certification.
Food Handler Training course
South Carolina Food Handler Card
List Price: $15.00
Does South Carolina Law Require Alcohol Server Training?
South Carolina Alcohol Server Training is recommended but not required by the state. Most South Carolina alcohol serving businesses do require certification. The South Carolina ABC states alcohol certification it can reduce the sanctions that might be a result of an employee's violation of South Carolina liquor laws.
Why Should I Take South Carolina Alcohol Server Training?
The South Carolina Alcohol Beverage Licensing (ABL) may consider it when determining penalties for a legal violation. Certification not only reduces your employer's risks. Think about alcohol server training to reduce your own liability. In South Carolina, a server can face 30 days in prison and a $200-300 fine for a first offense of selling alcohol to a minor.
Since 1985, we have given tips on responsible alcohol service and certified tens of thousands of individuals and businesses over the last 35 years. Our South Carolina bartending license certification course is created by former bar and restaurant managers, bartenders, and servers. Our training incorporates decades of research. Over the decades, we have worked diligently with state departments and liability lawyers to create the most reputable and recommended alcohol certification training. For those new to bartending, we have some helpful bartender career statistics that are worth your time getting to know.
South Carolina Alcohol Server Training
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
The minimum age to sell and serve alcohol depends on what type of alcohol is being sold.
- Persons under 18 may serve beer or wine in sealed containers only (retailer). But may not serve distilled spirits.
- Persons over the age of 18 may serve sealed containers of distilled spirits along with open containers of beer, wine, and distilled spirits.
- You must be 21 years or older to bartend in South Carolina.
Please visit our blog post for more information on minimum age and other frequently asked topics surrounding South Carolina Laws.
Yes, as a condition for selling and serving alcohol in South Carolina. Specifically, a DAODAS (Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services) approved alcohol enforcement training such as the one provided by Serving Alcohol is required for anyone who will sell or serve alcohol as part of their job duties.
Most places that serve alcoholic beverages will require servers and bartenders to be South Carolina alcohol certified.
The South Carolina Department of Revenue Alcohol Beverage Licensing (ABL) division controls liquor licenses in South Carolina.
South Carolina Department of Revenue
PO Box 125
Columbia, SC 29214-0907
In South Carolina, you must follow the provisions of the Alcohol Beverage Control Act (ABC ACT) found in the South Carolina Code of Laws Title 61 Chater 6 Article 1.
Blood alcohol content or BAC for driving a motor vehicle while under the influence (DUI) is more than .05% but less then.08%. Driving over a BAC of .08% is considered “driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration.” Both convictions can result in a fine, imprisonment, and/or suspension of your license.
South Carolina does not have a dramshop or liquor liability statute. Instead, all issues regarding a vendor selling or serving alcohol to a minor or someone who is intoxicated go in front of civil courts. The first offense could result in a $500 fine or, depending on severity, could revoke the establishment's license. If the courts determine a guilty verdict cannot be rendered, then the Supreme Court may hand down a decision.
Under South Carolina Code of Laws Title 61 Chapter 4 Article 1 Section 61-4-160:
“No person who holds a biennial permit to sell beer or wine for on-premises consumption may advertise, sell, or dispense these beverages for free, at a price less than one-half of the price regularly charged, or on a two or more for the price of one basis.”
To purchase alcohol for sale, you must present a valid, government-issued document such as a driver’s license or state identification. Other forms of identification deemed appropriate include a passport and military card.
Our training was approved by the South Carolina Department of Revenue division of Alcohol Beverage Licensing.
Also, we have over 35 years of experience in alcohol certification training. We are the most reputable and experienced professionals in the business.
All you need is a smartphone, tablet, computer, Internet connection, and time. That's it!
Compatible Computers and Devices:
- Windows 7, 8, 10 or 11
- Mac OSX or better
- Chromebook OS ver. 80 or better
- Android based tablet or phone (version 7.0 or better)
- iPhone 6 or better (iOS 12 or better)
- iPad 4 or better (iOS 12 or better)
Use These Web Browsers:
- Google Chrome ver. 80 or better
- Mozilla Firefox ver. 80 or better
- Safari 12 or better
- Microsoft Edge version 90 or better
|Do not use these web browsers:
They do not work well with interactive online training courses. If you currently use any of these web browsers, please switch to the native Google Chrome on your Android device or Safari browser on your iPhone or iPad. You will have a much better and quicker user experience.
We highly recommend Google Chrome when taking this course. It's much faster and more efficient with interactive training courses.
Clear the Cache in your Web Browser:
Online interactive learning courses are more demanding of your computer or device than regular websites. We highly recommend clearing your web browser before beginning. The course will react better and quicker. It takes only 30 seconds. Besides, it greatly helps to increase the speed of your browser on the Internet for all websites. Click here to select your device and browser for specific and easy instructions.
Click here to select your device, computer, and web browser combination
Most Recommended Alcohol Certification in South Carolina
Serving Alcohol has over 35 years of experience teaching alcohol certification principles and in-depth knowledge. You'll learn alcohol awareness training, intervention techniques, server duties, carding procedures, and state laws—all in a simple online alcohol server training course that is easy to understand. If you're a bartender, a waiter/waitress, or a server looking to achieve your bartending license or server permit, then our course is the one you'll need.
- Online interactive and self-paced training
- 100% Pass Guarantee or your money back
- 24/7 Customer Support Center
We recognize that you are busy, and alcohol training maybe not be at the forefront of your mind. We aim to give you accurate knowledge and quickly bring you "up to speed" with the most recent laws. Some of our information may seem common knowledge. But, as you do, we take your profession very seriously. Your decisions while serving alcohol could make a dramatic difference in another person's life. With a little of your time and our training, we will help you become a safer alcohol seller or server and increase your tips. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the course and print your free certificate and wallet card, all within a couple of hours.
Easily Complete It Today
This course takes 3 hours or less depending on the individual. It's easy to begin and complete in one sitting or take our training course at your leisure. Leave and come back to the course as many times as needed. When you return, the training will pick up where you last had left.
Use Any Computer Tablet or Smartphone
Our courses can be completed on any computer, laptop, tablet, or cellphone. Your certificate is available to you immediately upon completion as an emailed PDF file. Complete it tonight and email to your manager before going to work tomorrow. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the course and print your certificate.
Required By Most Insurance Carriers
Most liability insurance carriers for alcohol serving establishments (restaurants, bars, taverns, night clubs, etc.) require all employees to be alcohol certified. They will require your staff remain current with state rules, regulations, and laws, in regards to the service of alcohol. As a result, more businesses are requiring our alcohol server certificate as a condition of employment.
Our alcohol seller server certification course gives you with the tools to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. Additionally, you will learn:
- The effects of alcohol on your patrons
- Keep customers from becoming overly intoxicated
- Intervene when you need to refuse a sale
- Prevent intoxicated customers from disturbing others
- Properly check IDs and to recognize minors
- Prevent second-party sales
- Protect yourself and the establishment from liability