Montana Alcohol Server Seller Course
Earn your required certified Montana Alcohol Server Seller Course easily today. Our Serving Alcohol Montana Alcohol Server Seller Course is required before selling or serving alcohol in the state of Montana. This Montana alcohol certificate is also known as Montana alcohol license or Montana Server/Seller Permit. The law requires all licensees ensure any employee who serves or sells alcohol, their immediate supervisor and the license, to obtain training from a state alcohol approved program (16-4-1005 MCA) by Montana Alcohol Beverage Control Division from recommended alcohol certification provider Serving Alcohol.
We have over 35 years experience with alcohol seller server certification training. This training follows the rules and regulations of the Montana Code Annotated 2019 TITLE 16. ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO and any related penal and vehicle code. Serving Alcohol Inc. is approved as a certified state alcohol approved program (16-4-1005 MCA). This Montana alcohol certification course meets both on-premises and off-premises situations.
Our Montana alcohol certification course gives you with the tools to sell and serve alcohol responsibly. Additionally, you will learn:
- The effects of alcohol on your patrons
- Keep customers from becoming intoxicated
- Intervene when you need to refuse a sale
- Prevent intoxicated customers from disturbing others
- Prevent second-party sales
- Protect yourself and the establishment from liability
Liability Insurance Carriers
With all our experience, we give you ultimately everything needed to improve your business' stance with all liability insurance carriers. Most liability insurance carriers for alcohol-serving establishments (restaurants, bars, taverns, and nightclubs) require all employees to hold an alcohol certification. Therefore, they will need your staff will remain current with state rules, regulations, and laws, in regards to the service of alcohol. As a result, more businesses are requiring our server certification as a condition of employment.
Quick and Easy
Our Montana Alcohol Server Training Course is simple to enroll in and easy to take. Begin it in one sitting or leave and come back to the course as many times as needed. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the course, and print your certificate!
Use Any Computer Tablet or Smartphone
Our Montana Alcohol Server Training Course is responsive! Take it on a computer, laptop, tablet, or cellphone; on the go or while you sit at home. Now training can be done on your terms.
Serving Alcohol, Inc. has over 35 years of experience in teaching alcohol awareness, intervention techniques, server duties, carding procedures, and state laws. Our course will teach you:
- How to protect yourself and establishment from liability
- How alcohol affects your customers
- How to recognize the effects of alcohol on your customers
- How to prevent customers from becoming overly intoxicated
- How to intervene when you need to refuse a sale
- How to avoid and deal with disturbances
- How to accurately check IDs and recognize minors with fake IDs
- How to prevent second-party transactions
- How to react with authorities when a problem arises
Montana Alcohol Service
Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions
To sign in and return to the Montana Alcohol Server Training Course, go to our homepage at www.servingalcohol.com and click on the big Sign In button towards the top.
The agency that handles Montana liquor licensing and/or bartender licensing rules and regulations is the Montana Alcoholic Beverage Control Division.
The Montana Alcoholic Beverage Control Division
Telephone: (866) 859-2254
In Montana, you must follow the rules and regulations of the Montana Code Annotated 2019 TITLE 16. ALCOHOL AND TOBACCO and any related penal and vehicle code.
Any form of a government-issued ID can be accepted. Including but not limited to:
- Current state or Canadian driver license or identification card
- Current armed service identification card
- Valid passport or passport card
- Montana tribal identification card
- Montana temporary driver license and identification card
- Montana probationary driver license
No person under 18 years of age may serve or sell intoxicating liquor in a retail intoxicating liquor establishment.
Maybe. It’s up to the judge to determine if the nature of the felony should keep the individual from currently or in the future selling alcohol.
A Montana DUI, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, can be one of three offenses:
- driving while under the influence (impaired) by drugs or alcohol
- driving with an excessive blood alcohol content (BAC) (.08% or more), and
- driving with excessive THC (the psychoactive ingredient in marijuana) concentration (5 ng/ml or more)
In Montana it is also illegal to drive a boat while under the influence known as a BWI or boating while influenced.
According to 27-1-710. Civil liability for injuries involving alcohol consumption, a person or entity furnishing a person with an alcoholic beverage is not a cause of, or grounds for finding the furnishing person or entity liable for, injury or damage wholly or partly arising from an event involving the person who consumed the beverage unless:
- the consumer was under the legal drinking age and the furnishing person knew that the consumer was underage or did not make a reasonable attempt to determine the consumer's age;
- the consumer was visibly intoxicated; or
- the furnishing person forced or coerced the consumption or told the consumer that the beverage contained no alcohol.
We have over 30 plus years of experience and considered the most reputable and recommended training provider with alcohol certification. Our founder, Robert Pomplun, has been actively involved in the hospitality industry as an alcohol certification consultant, instructor, manager, and coordinator. Our alcohol training and certification courses, with Robert's guidance, have benefited tens of thousands of bartenders, servers, managers, owners, and security staff across the nation. Our courses will prepare you and your team with knowledge as the most critical component of responsible alcohol service.
Learn more About Us!
Computers or devices compatible to take this course:
- Windows 7,8,or 10
- Mac OSX or better
- Android based tablet or phone (version 5.0 or better)
- iPhone 6 or better
- iPad 4 or better
Compatible web browsers:
- Google Chrome ver. 50 or better
- Mozilla Firefox ver. 45 or better
- Safari 10 or better
- Microsoft IE 11 or better
- Microsoft Edge
We want to make a special note concerning Samsung web browsers on Android devices. Interactive learning software has some difficulties with the Samsung browser. Please, switch to the native Google Chrome browser on your device instead. You will have a better user experience. Every Samsung smartphone comes with the native Google Chrome web browser. If you need to download it, click the link below.
Montana Alcohol Certification | Questions and Answers
Q. What are the legal ages to serve and sell alcoholic beverages in Montana?
A. 39-2-306 MCA requires any person who serves or sells open container alcohol (waiter, waitress or bartender) be at least 18 years of age. There is no age limit for a person to sell or to receive shipments of alcohol in a closed container. There are age limits set for work hours for non-agricultural work. (41-2-115 MCA)
Q. What signs must I display if my establishment sells alcohol?
A. You must display a placard that fully lists the consequences of violations of the provisions of this code by persons under 21 years of age. You may obtain a hard copy of this sign free of charge by calling (406) 444-6457 orprint one out. (16-3-301(6) MCA)
Q. What signs must I display if my establishment sells tobacco?
A. You must display a sign that says "Montana law prohibits the sale of tobacco products to persons under 18 years of age." You may obtain a hard copy of this sign free of charge by calling (406) 444-6457 or You must display a sign that says "Montana law prohibits the sale of tobacco products to persons under 18 years of age." You may obtain a hard copy of this sign free of charge by calling 444-6457 or print one out. (16-11-304 MCA)
Q. What is drink equivalency?
A. This refers to a 1.5 flid ounce drink of 80 proof distilled spirits, 5 fluid ounces of wine, 12 fluid ounces of beer or wine cooler, and 8 to 9 fluid ounces of a malt liquor as all having the same amount (approximatley 1 oz.) of ethyl (pure) alcohol. These are known at Standard Drink Units (SDU).
Q. Who is responsible for checking identification to determine legal age of a customer?
A. It should be the person who actually serves or sells the alcohol. An on premise establishment that employs a bouncer who checks identification at the door does not lessen the burden of the server to verify age before serving a drink.
Q. What are the criminal penalties for a seller or server who sells an alcoholic beverage to an underage person?
A. First offense: $500 fine and possible jail time up to 6 months
Second offense: $1,000 fine and possible jail time up to 6 months.
Q. Is it against the law for children to be in a bar after a specific time?
A. No. However, an establishment may set a house policy of no one under the age of 21 allowed admittance after a specific time or not at all.
Q. Can an underage person legally purchase a beverage that contains alcohol?
A. Yes. If the beverage contains less than 0.5% alcohol by volume. the legal definition of an 'alcoholic beverage' in Montana is "a compound produced and sold for human consumption as a drink that contains more than 0.5% alcohol by volume." Anything under 0.5% alcohol by volume is not considered an alcoholic beverage in the state of Montana. (16-1-106(4) MCA)
Q. What are the administrative penalties for an establishment that sells alcohol to an underage person?
A. First offense: $250 fine
Second offense: $1,000 fine
Third offense: $1,500 fine and up to a 20 day suspension
Fourth offense: license revoked (ARM 42.13.101(3)
Q. Can a server or seller of alcohol provide an alcoholic beverage to someone who is intoxicated?
A. No. It is illegal to deliver, give away or sell alcohol to anyone who is actually, apparently, or obviously intoxicated. (16-3-301(4)(b) MCA and 16-6-304 MCA)
Q. Can a law enforcement official inspect any licensed establishment at any time?
A. Yes. A peace officer may enter at any time to examine the premises. (16-6-103 MCA and ARM 42.13.103)
Q. Can an alcoholic beverage be opened or consumed on the premises of an agency liquor store?
A. No. Alcoholic beverage containers may not be opened or consumed on the premises by an agent, employee or any other person. (16-2-107 MCA)
Q. What hours and days can an agency liquor store be open for business?
A. Agency liquor stores may remain open during the period between 8 am and 2 am Agency liquor stores must be closed on legal holidays and between the close of business Saturday afternoon up to the opening of business on Tuesday morning unless they have filed an exemption for Mondays. (16-2-104 MCA)
Q. What hours are licensed establishments allowed to be open for the sale of alcohol?
A. Establishments where alcoholic beverages are sold, offered for sale, given away, or consumed must be closed between the hours of 2 am and 8 am. (16-3-304 MCA) However, businesses such as hotels, restaurants, bus depots, railway terminals, grocery stores, pharmacies, or other lawful businesses may remain open. For these businesses, no alcohol can be sold, offered for sale, given away, or consumed between 2 am and 8 am. (16-3-305 MCA) Breweries may provide samples between the hours of 10 am and 8 pm with no more than 48 ounces per customer. (16-3-213(2) MCA) Restaurants may sell alcohol between the hours of 11 am and 11 pm. (16-4-422 MCA)
Q. Who has to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. Anyone who serves or sells alcohol, their immediate supervisor and the licensee, if they serve or sell, is required to obtain training from a state approved program. (16-4-1005 MCA)
Q. Is there any law that limits the amount of drinks an establishment can serve at one time to each individual customer?
A. No. However, the Department of Revenue highly recommends that establishments do not stack drinks or offer 'two for one' specials which promote binge drinking. An average person needs about two hours to metabolize approximately 1 standard drink which contains approximately one ounce of ethyl (pure) alcohol.
Q. What types of identification should I accept as proof-of-age to purchase alcohol?
A. The following are the most common forms of identification in Montana but any valid government issued form of identification is acceptable:
Current state or Canadian driver license or identification card
Current armed service identification card
Valid passport or passport card
Montana temporary driver license and identification card
Montana probationary driver license
Q. What should I do if presented with a fake or altered identification by an underage person?
A. If possible, make the refusal while still holding the identification in your hand. The underage person will usually leave the premises to avoid law enforcement. If the person demands that you return the identification and you fear for your safety, return the identification. Whether you have the identification or not, try to note a detailed description, direction of travel, and any vehicle information. Report any information to law enforcement immediately. If you confiscate identification, you must turn it over to your local law enforcement agency as soon as possible.
Q. What type of food should an establishment serve to help slow down the absorption of alcohol?
A. Foods with a high percent of fat and protein, like pizza, chicken wings, cheese sticks and deep fried items will slow the digestion rate and thus the absorption rate of alcohol into the bloodstream. Salty foods increase thirst and impact consumption; while foods high in sugar or carbohydrates are less effective in slowing the absorption of alcohol.
Youth Related Questions
Q. What can happen to me if I am underage and try to purchase alcohol?
A. First offense: Fine between $100 and $300, 20 hours community service, driver's license confiscated for 30 days, pay costs for participation in a community-based substance abuse course.
Second offense: Fine between $200 and $600, 40 hours community service, driver's license confiscated for 6 months, pay costs for participation in a community-based substance abuse course and complete a chemical dependency assessment and treatment.
Third offense: Fine between $300 and $900, 60 hours community service, driver's license confiscated for 6 months, pay costs for participation in a community-based substance abuse course and complete a chemical dependency assessment and treatment. (45-5-624 MCA)
Alcohol Server Training Related Questions
Q. Who has to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. The law requires that all licensees ensure that any employee who serves or sells alcohol, their immediate supervisor and the license, if they serve or sell, obtain training from a state approved program. (16-4-1005 MCA)
Q. Do volunteer's need to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. Yes. All volunteer's need to be trained unless they are working under a special permit. (16-4-1002 MCA)
Q. Do all licensee's need to be trained?
A. No. Only licensee's that actually serve or sell alcohol themselves need to be trained. (ARM 42.13.903)
Q. Do employees who just remove alcohol from the table when cleaning up need to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. No. The law specifically says anyone who "serves or sells" alcohol must be trained.
Q. How often does a server or seller need to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. Training must be received every three (3) years from a state approved program. (16-4-1005 MCA)
Q. When do new hires have to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. All new hires must be trained within 60 days of hire. (16-4-1005 MCA)
Q. Does the mandatory alcohol sales and service training requirement apply to both on and off premises locations?
A. Yes. The law applies to all retail establishments and manufacturers who are licensed to serve or sell alcoholic beverages.
Q. Does it matter if you take an on-premise or off-premise responsible alcohol sales and service class?
A. No. The law says employees that sell or serve alcoholic beverages must be appropriately trained to comply with state law prohibiting the sale and service of alcoholic beverages to persons under 21 years of age and to persons who are intoxicated. The law does not specify an on-premise vs. an off-premise course.
Q. Do agency liquor store employees need to obtain responsible alcohol sales and service training?
A. No. Agency liquor stores are not licensees. They are under contract with the state to provide services.
Q. Does the mandatory alcohol sales and service training requirement apply to airlines?
A. No. Airlines are exempt under the law as they are neither a retail establishment or manufacture as the law says.
Q. Is on-line alcohol sales and service training acceptable?
Q. Can I make my employees pay for alcohol sales and service training?
A. The law is silent on who is financially responsible for the cost of training. A licensee may choose to address this issue with the employee via an employment agreement or contract. This is between the licensee and the employee. (ARM 42.13.903(6)
Q. Do I need to send in proof of alcohol sales and service training to the department?
A. No. However, the law says the licensee must maintain employment records verifying employee completion of the training requirement. You will need to show proof upon request by the department. (ARM 42.13.903(5)<
Q. Who should keep the proof of alcohol sales and service training?
A. The original copy should always go with the employee as the training follows them where ever they work. The employer should keep a photocopy in their records.
Q. How is the mandatory alcohol sales and service training requirement enforced?
A. The department can enforce this law when a violation for either a sale to underage or intoxicated persons occurs. The department will ask the licensee for proof that their employees have been trained. If no proof is given, then a separate notice of violation will be issued to the licensee for a no training violation. (16-4-1008 MCA)
Q. What are the administrative penalties for a no training violation?
A. The administrative penalties for the licensee are as follows: $50 penalty for the first offense, a $200 penalty for the second and a $350 penalty for the third offense in a three year period. There is no criminal penalty for the employee. (16-4-1008 MCA)
Q. Can a no training violation be mitigated?
A.No. Only the penalty can be mitigated. The count will still go against the license.
Q. Is a no training violation another count on the liquor license?
Q. Where can I find a list of state approved alcohol sales and server training programs?
A. You may find a current list here
Q. When and where is training held?
A. The location of classes varies depending on the program. Each program must be contacted directly to obtain class information.
Q. What is the cost of alcohol sales and service training?
A. The cost of training varies depending on the company. The state approved training programs are private, for profit companies and have their own fee structure and will need to be contacted directly to obtain fee information. The state's responsible alcohol sales and service training program, Let's Control It, can cost up to $15.00 per person depending on the trainer.
Q. How long are classes?
A. The law requires that all state approved alcohol sales and service training programs be at least three hours in length. (ARM 42.13.904(6)
Q. Will a proof of training document be issued when alcohol sales and service training is complete?
A. Yes. All state approved training companies are required to issue some sort of proof of training. It may be a certificate or a wallet card. (ARM 42.13.904(13)