WI Bartending License Online
This required and state approved Wisconsin bartending license online certification course is the most popular and recommended course. Our WI bartending license online certification is for both on-premise and off-premise situations as state by the Wisconsin Alcohol Beverage Control. The Wisconsin bartending license certification course is also known as the Servers License Wisconsin or Wisconsin Responsible Beverage Server Training Course. We are one of the very few Wisconsin bartender license certification providers that are approved by the Wisconsin Alcohol Beverage Control to teach Wisconsin alcohol laws. We are also the only state approved training provider that offer both online and live seminar training for the state of Wisconsin.
How Long Does It Take To Get A Bartending License?
Getting a WI bartender license is very easy. Take our course and within the day you'll get your Wisconsin bartender license online. In order to learn to server Wisconsin responsible beverage service, this course fully complies with - and is recommended for – Wisconsin statutes 125.04, 125.17, and 134.66. The course gives you all the Wisconsin bartender license test answers to easily get your Wisconsin responsible beverage server license online today.
Advantages to our online course:
- Easily complete at your own pace
- Login and out of course as many times as needed to complete
- Up to 6 months to complete your course
- Only 80% to pass
- Retake final exam until pass if needed FREE
- Immediately download & email your certificate for FREE
How Long Is A Bartender License Good For In Wisconsin?
By the state of Wisconsin standards, a Wisconsin bartending license is valid for 2 years from the completion date. We give you the tools to learn to serve Wisconsin beverage service responsibly for both on-sale and off-sale. Whether you are a bartender, server, manager or clerk in a liquor or convenience store, you will be covered thoroughly by completing our course today.
How To Renew Bartending License Wisconsin
In order to renew your Wisconsin bartender license, you need to retake the course. If you used us previously, the next time through will be a breeze. If this is your first time taking our responsible beverage server training course, we make it easy with voiceover reading every page aloud in our a self-paced course. You can also easily adjust the speed of the online course reading to suit your needs.
Do You Need A License To Be A Bartender In Wisconsin?
A bartending license, also known as an "Wisconsin server license" is needed as stated by the state of Wisconsin Alcohol Beverage Laws. The certificate you recieve form our course needs to be taken to the local city clerk's office in the town or community where you will be selling and/or serving alcoholic beverages. The Wisconsin Department of Revenue has specified qualifications in order to obtain a operator's license to serve alcohol.
Serving Alcohol Inc Wisconsin alcohol certification course (also known as a Wisconsin Bartending License) is regulated by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue - Alcohol & Tobacco Enforcement division
Wisconsin alcohol age to sell or serve
- Age to consume: 21
- Age to serve: 18
- Age to sell (retail): 18
- Age to pour: 18
What time can you buy alcohol in Wisconsin?
- On Premise Establishments Hours of Operation
- Sunday thru Thursday 6:00 a.m. - 2 a.m. (the next day)
- Friday & Saturday 6:00 a.m. - 2:30 a.m. (the next day)
- There is no closing time for the New Year's holiday.
- No carry out sales between 12:00 midnight - 6:00am- local ordinances may further restrict carry out sales hours
- Off Premise Hours of Operation
- Wine & Liquor
- Monday thru Sunday, 6:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m.
- Wine Sampling 11:00am until 7:00pm
- Monday thru Sunday, 6:00 a.m. until Midnight
- Beer Sampling 11:00am until 7:00pm
- Wine & Liquor
Since 1985, Serving Alcohol has alcohol certified tens of thousands of individuals and businesses in Wisconsin. This course is created by former bar and restaurant managers, bartenders, and servers. A free certificate and a wallet card are given immediately after completion of the course. We cover topics in our Wisconsin bartending certification about how old you need to be to become a bartender, how to become a bartender, and how to get your Wisconsin bartender license. For reference, we have a web page dedicated to some helpful bartender career statistics in the US. For general information on obtaining a bartending license (not specific to any state), see our Ultimate Guide to Getting a Bartending License.
When completed, take this certificate to the city clerk's office in the city or town where you are employed. Click this link for the current listing of many of Wisconsin's city clerk offices.
More links to town websites in Wisconsin: city clerks directory
Quick and Easy
It's easy to begin and complete in one sitting or take our Wisconsin bartender license training course at your leisure. Leave and come back to the course as many times as needed. When you return, the training will pick up where you last had left.
Use Any Device
Our courses can be completed on any computer, laptop, tablet, or cellphone. Your certificate is available to you immediately upon completion as an emailed PDF file. Complete it tonight and email to your manager before going to work tomorrow. Select your course, click Enroll Now, complete the course and print your certificate!
Required By State & Insurance Carriers
The state of Wisconsin does require anyone who sells and serves alcohol to be Wisconsin alcohol certified. Plus, most liability insurance carriers for alcohol serving establishments (restaurants, bars, taverns, night clubs, etc.) require all employees to be alcohol certified. They will require your staff to remain current with state rules, regulations, and laws in regards to the service of alcohol. As a result, more businesses are requiring our alcohol training course certificate as a condition of employment.
Bartending can be a fun time. It gives you the ability to work in a lively and fun social environment, meet some interesting people, and most of all, leave with some extra cash in hand. Since bartending is primarily night work, it leaves your days free to work another job or finish college. Bartenders are subject to legal requirements that govern the alcohol industry. In Wisconsin, applying and obtaining a bartender license is required. Meeting bartender license requirements for Wisconsin is the first step to become a professional bartender.
Wisconsin Alcohol Statutes
Wisconsin bartender license requirements are outlined by Wisconsin statutes 125.04, 125.17, and 134.66. If you’re planning to complete online or in-person coursework to satisfy requirements, make sure bartending schools are in compliance with regulations set forth in these statutes. Qualified schools will state that they are in compliance with these statutes in promotional materials; coursework must be approved by the Wisconsin Department of Revenue.
All of the Wisconsin clerks are most aware of our course and consider us the most recommended training provider.
Qualifications To Get A WI Bartender License
In order to receive a Wisconsin bartenders license, applicants are required to be over age 18, meet criminal record requirements and be certified by an approved school, according to the website Wisconsin Responsible Serving. You do not need to currently hold a bartending job in order to apply for and receive a Wisconsin bartending license. Licenses are only valid within your municipality; if you move, you’ll need to seek additional licensing. Municipalities are defined as the city, town or village where you live; requirements and regulations may vary depending on location.
To qualify for a Wisconsin bartender license, you must...
- Be at least 18 years old
- Meet criminal record requirements
- Complete a certified Wisconsin responsible beverage server course
- Obtain a Wisconsin Bartender License (Alcohol Operator License) from the municipality where you work. The city clerk typically issues the Wisconsin Bartender License. The requirements can be different for each municipality. See below for a listing of Wisconsin cities, towns and villages. There are links to websites and in some cases to the applications for a Wisconsin Bartender License for that municipality.
You need to take this Wisconsin responsible beverage server course to get a license, unless you have taken this course in the past two years, or have had a valid Wisconsin Bartender License in the past two years (in any municipality). The municipality may have additional requirements.
You may work under the "immediate supervision" of another licensed bartender (or the licensee) without a Wisconsin responsible beverage server course. The licensed person must immediately supervise each sale.
The last requirement can be waived if it is a renewal application or if you held an alcohol beverage license, including an operator's license, within the past two years. The municipality may issue you a provisional operator's license if you are enrolled in a responsible beverage server course when you apply. An operator's license is only good in the municipality that issues it. For instance, if you are issued an operator's license in the City of Milwaukee, you may not use it in a suburban municipality, like Franklin.
A criminal record may prevent you from getting a Wisconsin bartending license, see the municipality you want to work in below, ask the city clerk about specifics if they are not mentioned in the Bartender's License Instructions below.
- Read more about operator licenses at the Wisconsin Department of Revenue's Website
Wisconsin's DRAM Shop Law
125.035 Civil liability exemption: furnishing alcohol beverages.
(1) In this section, person has the meaning given in s. 990.01 (26).
(2) A person is immune from civil liability arising out of the act of procuring alcoholic beverages for or selling, dispensing or giving away alcoholic beverages to another person.
(3) Subsection (2) does not apply if the persons procuring, selling, dispensing or giving away alcohol beverages causes their consumption by force or by representing that the beverages contain no alcohol.
(4) (a) In this subsection, provider means a person, including a licensee or permittee, who procures alcohol beverages for or sells, dispenses or gives away alcohol beverages to an underage person in violation of s. 125.07 (1) (a).(b) Subsection (2) does not apply if the provider knew or should have known that the underage person was under the legal drinking age and if the alcohol beverages provided to the underage person were a substantial factor in causing injury to a 3rd party. In determining whether a provider knew or should have known that the underage person was under the legal drinking age, all relevant circumstances surrounding the procuring, selling, dispensing or giving away of the alcohol beverages may be considered, including any circumstance under subds. 1. to 4. In addition, sub.(2) does apply if all of the following occur:
1. The underage person falsely represents that he or she has attained the legal drinking age.
2. The underage person supports the representation with documentation that he or she has attained the legal drinking age.
3. The alcohol beverages are provided in good faith reliance on the underage person’s representation that he or she has attained the legal drinking age.
4. The appearance of the underage person is such that an ordinary and prudent person would believe that he or she had attained the legal drinking age.
5. Subsection (2) does not apply to civil forfeiture actions for violation of any provision of this chapter or any local ordinance in conformity with any provision of this chapter.