Tennessee Responsible Vendor Training

Tennessee ABC Approved Vendor Training

Required every year for clerks and managers who sell wine or beer

Approved & Preferred Tennessee Vendor Training

Get your Tennessee ABC license with Serving Alcohol’s state-approved, preferred Tennessee responsible vendor training course. Since 2024, we have been a state-approved responsible vendor training provider, instructing staff members on recent Tennessee alcohol laws. We have over 40 years of experience certifying hundreds of thousands of people. 

The Tennessee Responsible Vendor Act of 2006, codified at T.C.A. § 57-5-601 et seq., is a program administered by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (ABC) for vendors who sell beer or wine for off-premises consumption. Their program is designed to ease the sale of beer or wine to minors as well as reduce accidents, injuries, and deaths related to excessive intoxication. Grocery, convenience, and liquor stores that elect to participate in the program and receive and maintain their certification as responsible vendors are entitled to reduced penalties for offenses related to the sale of beer and wine to minors.

Responsible vendors must post signs on their premises informing customers of their policy against selling beer or wine to underage persons. These signs must be at least 8½” x 11″ and contain the following language: “STATE LAW REQUIRES IDENTIFICATION FOR THE SALE OF BEER.” T.C.A. § 57-5-301(a)(1).

Under T.C.A. § 57-5-606, the ABC will certify a wine or beer vendor or store for 1 year as a “responsible vendor” upon compliance with the following:

  • All clerks who sell wine or beer for off-premises consumption must complete a responsible vendor training program and become certified within 61 days of being employed by the vendor, and the vendor must verify with the ABC before employing a clerk that the clerk is eligible for certification.
  • Each clerk must be issued a name badge with the clerk’s first name clearly visible. The clerk must wear the badge at all times while on duty.
  • The vendor must provide employees with instructions approved by the Tennessee ABC, which include the laws regarding the sale of beer for off-premises consumption, methods for recognizing and dealing with underage customers, and procedures for refusing to sell beer to underage customers and dealing with intoxicated customers.
  • The vendor must require all certified clerks to attend at least one annual meeting at which the vendor disseminates updated information prescribed by the ABC.
  • The vendor must maintain employment and training records.

Who Should Take Our Accredited
Tennessee Vendor Training

Frequently Asked Questions

Our online Tennessee Vendor training course is self-paced. Most people complete the course in about one to two hours.

Your Tennessee Vendor Training certification will be valid for 1 year. 

Store managers also need to sell beer or wine to customers. They often need to check IDs and card customers behind the bar or while making drinks. So, yes, managers of licensed establishments also need to be ABC-certified to know Tennessee alcohol laws.