Illinois Food Handler Safety Course

Only $8.00
Food Serving Alcohol

Illinois Food Handler Safety Certificate

This course will get you to fully Illinois Food Handler Safety certified.  It's an approved food handler license in the State of Illinois. Earn your ANSI accredited certificate from a national leader. Serving Alcohol has paired with eFoodhandlers to provide each food handler quality safety education on proper food handling and preparation practices. To learn how more about how to get an Illinois food handlers card, click the link above to Enroll Now.

Testimonials

Illinois Food Safety Manager Certificate

Only $99.00
Business Account

Business Account for Owners & Managers

Get a 15% discount to certify your entire staff
Master Bartender

Master Bartending Tips Training and Mixology Course

The Master Bartender training course will benefit individuals who are new or want to revisit knowledge about serving alcoholic drinks.
Master Bartender

Responsible Alcohol Manager Course

Restaurant, Bar, Nightclub Manager Training Course

On-Premise refers to those who sell AND serve alcohol such as a bartender or waiter in a restaurant, bar, tavern, or nightclub.

Off-Premise refers to those who only sell the alcohol and don't serve as in a liquor store, convenience store, or gas station.

The Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC). The ILCC's focuses on:

"Compliance
Ensures that licensees comply with the provisions of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 and its Rules and Regulations.
Licenses
Issues approximately 28,000 state liquor licenses each year at various classifications for the three tiers of the liquor industry. Strict qualifying criteria must be followed to obtain a liquor license as defined in the Illinois Liquor Control Act, which includes ownership information, local licensing, tax status and sales tax history. Revenues collected from liquor license fees fund all Commission operations.
Inspections
Conducts approximately 26,000 routine inspections of licensed premises via its team of 24 agents who are headquartered throughout the state. Upon finding violations of the Illinois Liquor Control Act, electronic reports are transmitted to the central office for adjudication.
Violations
Violations are reviewed and evaluated to determine the severity of the offense and method by which cases are to be adjudicated—from penalty fines to citing for formal hearings.
Hearings
ILCC’s Chairman and six Commissioners hold 18 formal hearings each year. They rule on the most serious of cases — including those affecting the health and safety of community — and hear appeals brought to the Commission by licensees who wish to challenge the local liquor commissioner’s decision.
Taxes
The Liquor Commission works jointly with the Illinois Department of Revenue to collect delinquent sales tax payments from liquor licensees.
Mail and Web Orders
Monitors and regulates mail order and internet sales of alcohol beverage products within Illinois and collaborates with regulatory bodies from other states to prevent illegal shipments of alcohol to minors.
Education
Provides an industry education program, which focuses primarily on the ILCC’s enforcement practices; interpretation of Illinois liquor control laws and minimumage tobacco laws; and public awareness efforts regarding the consequences of underage drinking.
Responsible Sales
Encourages responsible selling and serving of alcohol by licensing and promoting the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program. Additionally, to keep communities safe, various materials have been created — including public service announcements, posters, and fliers — to reduce incidents of driving under the influence of alcohol and decrease illegal sales of alcohol beverages to minors.
Underage Sales
ILCC special agents supervise underage purchasers during random ID checks. These checks, which are performed throughout the State of Illinois, test retail sales personnel on their duty to perform proper ID checks in the sale of alcohol. Agents also conduct periodic compliance sweeps in conjunction with other state and local enforcement agencies to check for violations above and beyond Illinois liquor laws. Lastly, the Commission conducts random tobacco compliance checks to measure retailer compliance to minimum-age tobacco laws. Grants are also provided to local jurisdictions, who perform their own checks."

In Illinois you must follow the provisions of the Illinois Liquor Control Act of 1934 and its Rules and Regulations. For a full list of the rules and regulations please see the BASSET Rules and Regulations page.

"Acceptable ID’s include the following: A valid current driver’s license or photo ID card issued by the Illinois Secretary of State’s Office or any other State; a valid Armed Forces ID; and a valid U.S. passport or foreign passport (with U.S. travel visa) containing the holder’s photograph. Please note: If a license holder chooses to request identification, then they have the authority to refuse service if the written evidence of identification is not a U.S.-affiliated ID. Nevertheless, it is ultimately the license holder's choice on what they will accept. Of course, if they accept an ID that is not U.S.-affiliated, then they have no defense if the person turns out to be under 21."

Answer provided by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC).

"Both answers are subject to local jurisdictional ordinances, but, at a minimum, the seller/server must be at least 18 years of age. A minor is not allowed to sell/serve alcoholic liquor. Illinois Liquor Control Commission Rules & Regulations (Section 100.10) define a "minor" as a person under 18 years of age (per an Illinois Attorney General opinion in 1973). However, the Illinois Liquor Control Act (235 ILCS 5/6-16, 235 ILCS 5/6-16.2, and ILCS 5/4-1) allows local jurisdictional control over this matter as well as the age allowed to enter a bar/tavern (restaurants that serve alcohol are exempt from this law). In Chicago, for example, you must be 21 to sell/serve alcohol and those under 21 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to enter a bar/tavern. Some other local jurisdictions allow all ages to enter, regardless of whether they are with a parent or legal guardian. Other municipalities have ordinances specifying different ages for the selling, serving, pouring, drawing, and/or opening of alcoholic beverages. You can view various ordinances for most local jurisdictions by viewing the Loc​al Survey on this website. One state law that cannot be changed, however, is the legal drinking age of 21."

Answer provided by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC).

Yes, a felony conviction only prevents a person from obtaining a liquor license in the state of Illinois.

As of July 1, 2018, every county within the state of Illinois will require all sellers, servers, and door persons to successfully complete our official Illinois Basset certification course every three years.

"Section 3500.155 Curriculum Requirements

The program shall submit its curriculum to the Commission for review at the time of application for licensure. The curriculum shall include, at a minimum, information in the following areas of instruction:

a) AREA 1: PHYSICAL PROPERTIES OF ALCOHOL, DRUGS & ALCOHOLISM - Blood alcohol concentration (BAC), alcoholism, the effects of alcohol and/or drugs on driving performance. BAC levels related to body weight, gender and amount of alcohol consumed per hour.

b) AREA 2: PREVENTION & INTERVENTION TECHNIQUES - Maintenance of professional demeanor, use of alternative beverages, designated driver programs, visual and behavioral cues that may help participants recognize potential problems, assuring customer safety, refusal of service.

c) AREA 3: ILLINOIS STATE STATUTES, LOCAL ORDINANCES, ILLINOIS DUI LAWS- Laws pertaining to the sale of alcohol and the differences between civil and criminal charges and the penalties each carries, Illinois DUI laws and associated penalties.

d) AREA 4: PROPER IDENTIFICATION TECHNIQUES, POLICE POLICIES & EXPECTATIONS - Secretary of State=s procedures to ensure security of driver=s licenses and State ID cards, other acceptable forms of identification and enhanced identification techniques. Proper use of municipal support services (police, fire and paramedic services).

e) AREA 5: DRAM SHOP LIABILITIES, INSURANCE, AND VICTIM'S RIGHTS - Vicarious liability, third party liability, procedures for protection against possible litigation, State insurance requirements and legal terms used in litigation.

Section 3500.160 BASSET Programmatic Requirements

a) The BASSET program shall include a minimum of three
hours of classroom instruction for off-premises sellers and four hours for on-premises sellers and servers. This instruction may be offered in one entire session or scheduled in increments over a specified period of time. The program time can be adjusted to take into account new, innovative teaching methods if approved by the Commission.
b) At the time of application for licensure, the program must specify how the required curriculum hours will be scheduled.
c) BASSET programs shall design and administer a pre-test and post-test to participants to assess the program=s effectiveness and any increase in knowledge in the curriculum areas. The pre-test and post-test must be submitted for review by the Commission at the time of application for licensure or prior to the provision of services.
d) BASSET programs shall issue a certificate to each participant that it determines has successfully completed the course.
e) BASSET programs shall submit at the time of licensing a listing of all BASSET instructors.
f) Within ten days after the completion of an approved training course, the BASSET licensee shall submit to the Commission a roster. The roster shall include: the name, address, telephone number and date of birth of each student who successfully completed the training course and passed the required examination: the name and company of the BASSET trainer that conducted the course; the date each participant successfully completed the course; and whether the course was off-premises instruction only. The Commission will then issue BASSET cards to those participants who successfully completed the course. Replacement cards will cost $15. These cards must be carried by the person whose name appears on the card if involved in the selling and/or serving of alcoholic liquor and local ordinance mandates BASSET training. A BASSET licensee may issue a temporary card to any person who has successfully completed its course. The temporary card shall be valid pending receipt of the card issued by the Commission but for no longer than 30 days after issuance of the temporary card.
g) Within 30 days after notification by the Commission. BASSET programs shall compile and submit, on a format designed by the Commission, a semi-annual report containing the following information:
1) The number of participants trained during the reporting period.
2) The number of BASSET courses scheduled and completed during the reporting period and the location of each course.
3) The total fees charged for BASSET training per course during the reporting period.
4) The number of businesses represented by participants completing BASSET programs and the respective counties of those businesses.
h) BASSET programs shall maintain a record of all participants who successfully complete BASSET training for a minimum of one year."

Answer provided by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC).

"BASSET certification/expiration is based upon state law, the local municipality where you are doing business and/or the training company you utilized for training. Participants will be issued a certificate from the licensed BASSET provider (BASSET providers submit a roster to the ILCC of participants who have taken their class and passed the examination). The Commission will then issue certification letters (which include the BASSET card) to those participants who successfully completed the course . While it is suggested these cards be carried by the person whose name appears on the card if involved in the selling and/or serving of alcoholic liquor."

Answer provided by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC).

With over 30 plus years of experience in the hospitality industry as a alcohol certification consultant, instructor, manager, and coordinator, Robert Pomplun is a true expert. Our alcohol training and certification courses with Robert's guidance have benefited thousands of bartenders, servers, managers, owners, and security staff across the nation. Our courses will prepare you and your staff with knowledge as the most important component of responsible alcohol service.

Learn more About Us!

We have been approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission under license number is #5A-0105593 to provide with the Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program is the state of Illinois' seller/server training program either on-premise or off-premise.  This means we meet all curriculum and programmatic requirements.  In addition, we have over 30 years experience in alcohol certification training. Without question, we are the most reputable and experienced professionals in the business.

In fact:

Representatives from colleges throughout Illinois attended the Illinois Liquor Control Commission’s (ILCC) 9th Annual College Town Summit, held on November 9, 2017, at Western Illinois University. Presentations focused on timely topics pertaining to alcohol-related issues on college campuses.

Robert Pomplun from Serving Alcohol Inc. conducted a break out session concerning the alcohol server training for the state of Illinois Basset alcohol course.

Topics included: Neurological effects of alcohol, binge drinking, sexual assault, prevention and recovery on college campuses.

Either a smart phone, tablet, or computer and time.  That's it!

To re-print your BASSET card please visit the BASSET Card Lookup.