More than 180 establishments holding New York state liquor licenses have been charged with serving minors during last month’s statewide crackdown on underage drinking.
That’s according to state officials who say April’s monthlong enforcement effort resulted in charges being filed against 186 out of the 851 bars, restaurants, liquor stores and grocery stores in 46 counties that were visited by underage decoys working with investigators.
The compliance checks were conducted by the State Liquor Authority, the state Department of Motor Vehicles and local law enforcement agencies.
Democratic Gov. Andrew Cuomo announced the start of the statewide sweeps in early April. He says it was the state’s latest effort to catch people using fake identifications to buy alcohol and to hold businesses accountable for illegal sales.
The Commission’s 2014 Winter Newsletter states the following:
“Due to the new Firearm Concealed Carry Act, Special Event/Special Use license holders and Retailer license holders whose gross receipts are more than 50 percent alcoholic liquor within the prior three months, have a duty to prohibit persons from carrying guns into their licensed establishment.”
The Commission clarifies that the Firearm Concealed Carry Act firearm prohibition only applies to “[a]ny building, real property, and parking area under the control of an establishment that serves alcohol on its premises if more than 50% of the establishment’s gross receipts within the prior 3 months is from the sale of alcohol.” [(430 ILCS 66/65(a)(9)].
The Firearm Concealed and Carry Act prohibition does not apply to retail licensed locations that sell alcoholic liquor for off premises consumption only. All license holders should consult the Illinois statutes and local ordinances and if necessary, private counsel, to determine whether or not they are in compliance with the Firearm Concealed Carry Act.
The suspension begins on January 20th, 2019 and will last 21 days. As a result, owners of the bar estimate they will lose $115,000 US in lost sales earnings in the 21 days the Barrel Room will be legally prohibited from selling alcohol.
According to the lawsuit, the bartender admitted to Portland police that he had been drinking on the job that day and had been relieved of his duties because of this. As a result, the owners of the bar are now seeking damages from its former employee for $5,500 per day over 21 days for a total of $115,000 USD.
Furthermore, employees who serve alcohol in Oregon are required to have a permit issued by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. This applies to nightclubs, bars, restaurants, taverns, private clubs, lounges, etc. Because the bartender was drinking alcohol on the job, and drunk at work, consequently he had his service permit suspended for 18 days and was also penalized.
Some of us here at Serving Alcohol Inc are parents of soon to be teenage children.
The Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility has started a helpful new video series. On Responsibility is a video series featuring unique leaders in parenting and beyond. Our experts offer thoughtful and practical advice to parents as they navigate the teenage years with their kids, sharing skills and tips they’ve learned to help raise responsible teenagers.
We wanted to share this great resource with other parents.